A Welcome to New Visitors

My name is Se Dice Bisonte, and I’ve been having fun with Is That You, Moatilliatta? for about a month now. ITYM? was accepted onto the Anime Nano blog indexer after my last post and received its first traffic, so it’s been revealed to the world, and I welcome the world with open arms.

ITYM? is a manga blog with a focus on individual images. I love manga stories, but what interests me more than the stories themselves is the way that art portrays those stories. I take apart the ways facial expressions or poses convey emotion, and how aesthetics manipulate the emotions of the reader; I look at how panel structure effects a manga’s ability to communicate, and observe minor details and symbols that bring out the author’s personality; and sometimes, I turn into a goo-eyed fanboy and gush about whatever manga hits my screen/lap.

I’m a big fan of cute girls and violence—the more grotesque, the better. You may also consider me a ‘lolicon.’ Cute girls and violence don’t automatically make a favorite, nor are they required—any manga with breathtaking artwork is likely to strike home, and my alltime favorite is Otomo Katsuhiro’s Akira. However, I’m not as likely to enjoy a manga without some level of violence. See the “Who Is This Effigy?” page for a list of my favorite manga and artists.

I support and promote anyone that brings manga to the masses. Scanslations are great, though I’ll skip out if the translation is terrible (which is why I still haven’t read Blood the Last Vampire, even though it’s by my favorite author, Tamaoki Benkyo.) I support licensing companies as well, but I do it out of respect rather than for legal reasons. If a publication doesn’t deserve respect, I won’t promote them. If I enjoy a manga, there’s a high chance it’s in my collection.

I use a detailed system of categories and tags on my posts, which is mostly for myself. I tag the magazine that a manga was originally published in and either the scanslation group or licensing company involved with it; this is my way of keeping track of what things to look out for in future manga pursuit. I get most of my information from Baka-Updates Manga, which also introduced me to most of the manga I’ve read.

My current release schedule is one post every three days, and I intend to keep it that way for as long as possible. I can’t promise that there’ll always be a post on time, but I promise to try as hard as I can to make it happen.

I’m open to recommendations, link sharing, and even requests. If there’s a manga you’d be interested in hearing my thoughts on, or an element you’d like me to take a look at, just drop me a comment anywhere on the site and I’ll see what I can do.

I can be reached by email at sedicebisonte@gmail.com.

I hope you enjoy your time on this blog and look forward to upcoming posts.

Leave a Reply

